Rapid tooling is an extension of rapid prototyping. It focuses on fast production of tools for injection molding as well as prototypes or small series made of plastic using injection-molding methods.

Using state-of-the-art HSC technology (high-speed cutting), the shaping tool inserts are milled from aluminum and transferred to our in-house plastic injection-molding shop. In this way, components made from original materials can be produced in the shortest possible time, regardless of whether they are then used as prototype, pre-series or series parts. Precise, fast and cost-effective.

Time-to-market is the key

Our CAD-CAM-based 5-axis milling machines with connected robot handling system make it possible to produce tools via “unmanned” overnight operation. This results in short throughput times and therefore considerable time savings.

The key term here is “time-to-market”. Fast availability and economic efficiency are the main focus. A prerequisite for all parts manufactured with rapid-tooling processes is that they are designed for injection molding from the outset.

Rapid tooling is particularly suitable for product development, ensuring suitability for series production, transferring findings to series production or the manufacture of small series of up to 50,000 parts.

Rapid-tooling injection-molding tool with slides
Complete injection-molding tool with slides
Rapid tooling – mold production
Relentless – our tool production can also run “unmanned” around the clock.
production “unmanned” around the clock
Relentless – our tool production can also run “unmanned” around the clock.
CNC-controlled 5-axis milling machine
In control – CNC-controlled 5-axis milling machines.

1zu1 to the original

By using high-strength aluminum materials and an additional surface coating (with a sufficient ordered quantity), it is possible to produce up to 100,000 components from a single injection-molding tool. EDM, draw-polished or high-gloss finishes are possible. Tool tolerances of less than 0.01 mm can be achieved.

In our adjoining, state-of-the-art injection-molding facility, we can process almost any available thermoplastic material. Depending on the number of pieces, the tools can be designed for manual removal or as a semi-automatic or fully automatic falling-parts version – cost-optimized in accordance with customer/quantity requirements. Complex overmolding and insertion of cables, stamping and bending of parts, and the manufacture of multi-component parts all fall within the scope of our services. Our systems also include horizontally and vertically swiveling machines, which are ideal for these applications. Since 2016, we have also been manufacturing in an ISO-certified Class 8 cleanroom.

We can provide our customers with a compact rapid-tooling package

We start each job with an analysis of the customer’s needs and an in-depth consultation – in order to find the most cost-effective and time-optimized solution for the task at hand. Each quotation includes a simple proposal in the form of a tooling concept.

When an order is placed, we then proceed one step at a time: from design and toolmaking to injection molding in the original material. At 1zu1 Prototypes, when we use the word “rapid”, we really mean it. For simple tooling assignments, our standard service includes creation of the mold and production of the injection-molded parts with a guaranteed lead time of three weeks. Complex orders are completed within a maximum of six weeks. Compared to the production of series tools, these speeds are simply incredible. Please note that only the plastic parts are delivered; the actual tool inserts remain at our company.

Component sizes for rapid tooling

At 1zu1 Prototypes we concentrate on manufacturing components with maximum dimensions that correspond to a projected footprint of around max. DIN A5.

The advantages of rapid tooling at a glance:

  • Tool and molding concept confirmed at the quotation stage
  • Fast tool design in 3D
  • Continuous CAD-CAM connection to our state-of-the-art 5-axis milling centers
  • 24/7 milling via connected robot and unmanned loading of the machining center
  • Costs for the forming parts are charged pro rata for the mold construction
  • Extremely cost-effective solution for small-series production (inexpensive aluminum tools)
  • In-house production of injection-molded parts in original material at 1zu1 Prototypes
  • Profound toolmaking expertise
  • Solutions for multiple components, production with inserts. Cleanroom production in accordance with ISO Class 8
  • Strictest confidentiality ensured
  • Free storage of molded parts for repeat orders
  • On request with initial sample test report based on non-contact analysis using GOM metrology

Rapid Tooling stellt eine Erweiterung des Rapid Prototyping dar. Es geht um die schnelle Herstellung von Werkzeugen für den Spritzguss sowie von Prototypen oder Kleinserien aus Kunststoff mittels Spritzgießverfahren.

Mit modernster HSC-Technik (High Speed Cutting) werden die formgebenden Werkzeugeinsätze aus Aluminium gefräst und an die hauseigene Kunststoffspritzerei übergeben. So können Bauteile aus Originalwerkstoffen in kürzester Zeit hergestellt werden, egal ob diese dann als Prototypenteile, Vorserienteile oder als Serienteile zum Einsatz kommen. Präzise, schnell und kostengünstig.

Time-to-market ist der Schlüssel

Unsere CAD-CAM-basierten 5-Achsfräsmaschinen mit angeschlossenem Roboter-Handling-System machen es möglich, Werkzeuge „mannlos“ über Nacht zu fertigen. Die so erzielten kurzen Durchlaufzeiten bringen eine erhebliche Zeiteinsparung.

Das Schlüsselwort dabei heißt Time-to-market. Schnelle Verfügbarkeit und Wirtschaftlichkeit stehen im Vordergrund. Voraussetzung für alle Teile, die mit Rapid Tooling Verfahren gefertigt werden, ist deren spritzgussgerechte Konstruktion.

Rapid Tooling eignet sich besonders gut für die Produktentwicklung, zur Sicherung der Serientauglichkeit, um Erkenntnisse in die Serienherstellung zu übernehmen oder für die Herstellung von Kleinserien von bis zu 50.000 Teilen.

Rapid Tooling Spritzgusswerkzeug mit Schiebern
Komplett: Spritzgusswerkzeug mit Schiebern
Rapid Tooling Robotersystem für 5-Achs-Bearbeitung
Das flutscht: 1zu1 Robotersystem für 5-Achs-Bearbeitung.
Rapid Tooling Werkzeugproduktion
Das rennt: Werkzeugproduktion auch "mannlos" über Nacht.
CNC-gesteuerte 5-Achs Fräsmaschine
Das läuft: CNC-gesteuerte 5-Achs Fräsmaschinen.

1zu1 am Original

Durch die Verwendung hochfester Aluminiumwerkstoffe und einer zusätzlichen Oberflächenbeschichtung (bei entsprechendem Stückzahlbedarf) wird es machbar, bis zu 100.000 Bauteile mit einem einzigen Spritzgießwerkzeug herzustellen. Erodierte, strichpolierte oder hochglänzende Oberflächen sind möglich. Werkzeug-Toleranzen von unter 0,01 mm sind realisierbar.

Im anschließenden, modernen Spritzguss-Maschinenpark können wir nahezu alle möglichen Thermoplast-Werkstoffe verarbeiten. Stückzahlabhängig werden die Werkzeuge auf Handentnahme, Halbautomatik oder auf eine vollautomatisch Teile-fallende Version ausgelegt. Kostenoptimal abgestimmt auf die Kunden- und Stückzahlbedürfnisse. Komplexe Umspritzungen und Einlegen von Kabeln, Stanz-Biegeteilen oder das Herstellen von Mehrkomponentenbauteilen gehören zu unserem Angebot. Im Maschinenpark gibt es auch horizontal-, vertikal schwenkbare Anlagen, die diese Anwendungen optimal ermöglichen. Seit 2016 fertigen wir auch im ISO-zertifizierten Reinraum der Klasse 8.

Unsere Kunden bekommen ein kompaktes Rapid Tooling Paket

Jeden Auftrag starten wir mit einer Analyse des Kundenbedürfnisses und einer Beratung, um die kosten- und zeitoptimale Lösung für die gestellte Herausforderung zu finden. Jedes Angebot beinhaltet einen einfachen Vorschlag in Form eines Werkzeugkonzepts.

Bei einer Bestellung geht es dann Schlag auf Schlag: Von der Konstruktion über den Werkzeugbau bis zum Spritzguss in Originalmaterial. Die Bedeutung des Wortes Rapid wird bei 1zu1 Prototypen ernst genommen. Einfache Werkzeuglösungen realisieren wir im Standard inkl. der Herstellung der Spritzgießteile in einer garantierten Durchlaufzeit von drei Wochen. Komplexe Aufträge werden innerhalb von längstens sechs Wochen realisiert. Verglichen mit der Herstellung von Serienwerkzeugen zeigen diese Geschwindigkeiten eine enorme Leistungskraft. Geliefert werden ausschließlich die Kunststoffteile, die Werkzeugeinsätze selbst verbleiben im Haus.

Bauteilegrößen beim Rapid Tooling

Bei 1zu1 Prototypen konzentrieren wir uns darauf, Bauteile in einer maximalen Dimension einer projizierten Grundfläche bis ca. DIN A5 herzustellen.

Die Vorteile von Rapid Tooling auf einen Blick:

  • Werkzeug- und Anspritzkonzept im Angebotsstadium
  • Schnelle Werkzeugkonstruktion in 3D
  • Durchgängige CAD-CAM Anbindung modernster 5-Achs Fräszentren
  • 24/7 Fräsbearbeitung durch Roboteranbindung und mannlose Bestückung des Bearbeitungszentrums
  • Kosten für die formgebenden Teile nur anteilig für den Formaufbau
  • Kostenoptimal für Kleinserienherstellung (preisgünstige Alu-Werkzeuge)
  • Herstellung der Spritzgussteile in Originalmaterial intern bei 1zu1 Prototpyen
  • Hohe Kompetenz im Werkzeugbau
  • Lösungen für Mehrkomponenten, Fertigung mit Einlegern. Reinraumfertigung ISO Klasse 8
  • Sicherung höchster Geheimhaltung
  • Kostenlose Einlagerung der Formteile für Nachbestellungen
  • Auf Wunsch mit Erstmusterprüfbericht, berührungslos erstellt mit der GOM-Messtechnik