Additive manufacturing – often also called rapid manufacturing or additive assembly – refers, on the one hand, to the use of processes for series production which were previously used primarily in rapid prototyping. This is opening up new technical and economic possibilities. On the other hand, additive manufacturing refers to all generative manufacturing processes in which the component is made by adding layer upon layer of material. This is in contrast to the conventional, subtractive manufacturing processes such as milling, drilling and turning where material is removed.

What makes the additive manufacturing process so exceptional is that no tools are needed to manufacture components, thus allowing complex geometric structures to be built which would be impossible or prohibitively expensive if made using traditional manufacturing processes.

In this way there is a direct link between the developer’s desk and the production line.

  • Extensive design and construction freedom
  • Realization of complex constructions and lightweight structures
  • Reduction of iteration cycles in product development
  • Tool-less manufacturing
  • On-site, custom and just-in-time production
  • Scalable from lot size 1 up to series production

In our experience, the most popular process in rapid manufacturing today is Selective Laser Sintering. However, depending on the requirements, multi-jet fusion, stereolithography, vacuum casting or injection molding are alternative options for production of the final components. Rapid technological advancements in the machines and the availability of new materials have recently made the use of 3D-printing processes possible in series production.

Additive manufacturing thus “flexes its muscles” where traditional manufacturing reaches its limits. It enables a design-oriented manufacturing process with continuous adaptation of the components, even in ongoing series production. In terms of production, this is a game-changer.

1zu1 Additive Manufacturing Guarantee

We intensively monitor the ISO-certified processes in our machines, while cameras allow us to keep tabs on every process, 24/7. In additive manufacturing we build test specimens on request in order to check the strength of the parts. Temperature and humidity-controlled rooms and continuously serviced machinery underpin the consistency of our production.

We use original materials supplied by the equipment manufacturer and guarantee consistent quality. In laser sintering, the refresh rates of the material are so high that we can guarantee maximum precision, perfect surface quality and high strength. We manufacture exclusively in-house in secured rooms and guarantee maximum secrecy.

1zu1 Development Monitoring

We realize ideas together with our customers. We do this based on the required design, speed, precision and cost-effectiveness. Based on the initial design data, our professionals advise you as to which technologies and production processes would be best suited to the project. The entire process is traceable right up to market launch – and the result is perfect. The optimal decision can only be reached with first-class consulting and support.

Our focus is determined by your requirements: design freedom, speed, precision, cost-effectiveness. To achieve this, we have a wide range of 3D-printing technologies and in the case of increasing volumes we can seamlessly switch to other processes such as vacuum casting or rapid tooling for injection molding.

However, right now we believe it makes the most sense to employ these technologies for components or assemblies that have been specifically designed for 3D printing. In this way you can get the most out of this novel technology.

Additive Manufacturing Quality / AMQ Certificate

EOS, the world leader in additive manufacturing technology, and TÜV SÜD, an international German testing and certification company, have awarded 1zu1 the coveted AMQ seal – an award with tangible benefits for the customer..

Using additive manufacturing we are already in a position to react very quickly to fast innovation cycles and shortened development times. The possibilities here are almost endless.

Additive Manufacturing – oft auch Rapid Manufacturing oder Additive Fertigung genannt – bezeichnet zum einen die Anwendung von Verfahren für die Serienproduktion, die bisher im Rapid Prototyping zuhause waren. Damit eröffnen sich ganz neue technische und wirtschaftliche Möglichkeiten. Zum anderen versteht man unter Additive Manufacturing alle generativen Fertigungsverfahren, bei denen das Bauteil durch schichtweises Hinzufügen des Werkstoffes entsteht. Im Gegensatz zu den konventionellen, subtraktiven Herstellungsverfahren wie Fräsen, Bohren und Drehen, bei denen Material abgetragen wird.

Die herausragenden Merkmale der additiven Fertigungsverfahren sind, dass zur Herstellung von Bauteilen keine Werkzeuge benötigt werden und so komplexe geometrische Strukturen realisiert werden können, die mit klassichen Herstellungsverfahren nicht oder nur äußert aufwendig realisiert werden können.

Damit entsteht mit Additive Manufacturing eine direkte Verbindung vom Schreibtisch des Entwicklers in die Fertigungsstraße.

  • Umfassende Design- und Konstruktionsfreiheit
  • Umsetzung komplexer Konstruktionen und Leichtbaustrukturen
  • Verkürzung von Iterationszyklen in der Produktentwicklung
  • Werkzeuglose Herstellung
  • Fertigung vor Ort, nach Bedarf und auf Abruf
  • Skalierbar von Losgröße 1 bis zur Serie

Das gängigste Verfahren im Rapid Manufacturing ist aus unserer heutigen Sicht das Selective Laser Sintering. Doch auch Stereolithografie, Vakuumguss oder Spritzguss können je nach Anforderung eine Alternative bei der Herstellung von Endbauteilen sein. Der rasche technologische Fortschritt bei den Anlagen und die Verfügbarkeit von neuen Materialien macht neuerdings den Einsatz von 3D-Druck-Verfahren in der Serienfertigung möglich.

Die Additive Fertigung lässt also dort ihre Muskeln spielen, wo die konventionelle Fertigung an Grenzen stößt. Sie erlaubt einen designorientieren Herstellungsprozess und und laufende Anpassung von Bauteilen auch in der laufenden Serienfertigung. Damit ändern sich die bisherigen Spielregeln in der Produktion.

1zu1 Gewährleistung beim Additive Manufacturing

Die ISO zertifizierten Prozesse in unseren Anlagen überwachen wir intensiv, Kameras sorgen 24/7 dafür, dass jeder Ablauf nachvollziehbar bleibt. Bei Additive Manufacturing Projekten bauen wir auf Wunsch Prüfstäbe mit, um die Festigkeit der Teile kontrollieren zu können. Klimatisierte und feuchtigkeitsgeregelte Räume und kontinuierlich gewartete Anlagen unterstützen die Konstanz der Fertigung.

Bei den verwendeten Werkstoffen handelt es sich um Originalwerkstoffe der Anlagen-Hersteller, die eine gleichbleibende Qualität garantieren. Die Auffrischungsraten des Materials beim Lasersintering sind derart hoch, dass wir maximale Präzision, perfekte Oberflächenbeschaffenheit und hohe Festigkeit gewährleisten können. Wir fertigen ausschließlich in-house in zutrittsgesicherten Räumlichkeiten und garantieren maximale Geheimhaltung.

1zu1 Entwicklungsbegleitung

Ideen setzen wir gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden um. Basis dafür sind die Anforderungen an Design, Schnelligkeit, Präzision und Wirtschaftlichkeit. Aufgrund erster Konstruktionsdaten beraten unsere Profis, welche Technologie für das Projekt die beste ist und wie produziert wird. Der ganze Prozess bis zur Markteinführung wird nachvollziehbar und das Ergebnis perfekt. Nur eine erstklassige Beratung und Begleitung macht eine optimale Entscheidungsfindung möglich.

Ihre Anforderungen bestimmen dabei den Fokus: Designfreiheit, Schnelligkeit, Präzision, Wirtschaftlichkeit. Dafür verfügen wir über ein breites Spektrum an 3D-Druck-Technologien und können bei steigendem Volumen nahtlos in andere Verfahren wie das Vakuumgießen oder ins Rapid Tooling für den Spritzguss umsteigen.

Dennoch erscheint es uns derzeit am sinnvollsten, diese Technologien dann einzusetzen, wenn Bauteile oder Baugruppen extra für den 3D-Druck designt wurden. So gewinnen Sie maximalen Nutzen aus dieser jungen und neuen Technologie.

Ausblick für Additive Manufacturing

Mit der Additiven Fertigung können wir jedenfalls schon jetzt sehr gut auf kurze Innovationszyklen und reduzierte Entwicklungszeiten reagieren. Die Möglichkeiten sind dabei fast grenzenlos.